Streifen.jpg

REFUGEES AND MIGRATION FROM HONDURAS

10.04.2022 | BLOG

Leaving everything behind and setting off into an uncertain future… For many people this is hardly imaginable, but unfortunately it is part of our reality: according to the UN Refugee Agency UNHCR, more than 82 million people are on the run worldwide. Every year, many thousands of people flee from Honduras towards the USA. We are all familiar with the images of refugees from Central America who reach the US border exhausted, but are by no means welcomed there with open arms. It is therefore important to fight the factors which are causing the people of Honduras to feel that migration is their only option, and to offer prospects for a self-determined life in their home country. This is exactly where the work of The Opportunity Project comes in.

 

We would be deeply grateful if you supported our work with a donation and helped to fight the causes of forced migration.

SAM_4894_be.jpg

TABLE OF CONTENTS

WHAT IS A REFUGEE?

When someone leaves their home because of war or fear of persecution, they are known as a refugee. In terms of international law, a person is a refugee if he or she leaves his or her country because of "fear of persecution for reasons of race, religion, nationality, membership of a particular social group or political opinion".

 

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A REFUGEE AND A MIGRANT?

 

The terms are often used interchangeably, yet there is a difference between refugees and migrants: a migrant is someone who leaves his or her home country of his or her own accord to build a better life in another place. By contrast, a refugee is someone who is driven by external circumstances.

SAM_3800_be.jpg
 

WHAT TYPES OF MIGRATION ARE THERE?

Migration has existed since humans have existed. In the past, people migrated for food. Today it is mainly the prospect of better living conditions. There are two types of migration:

 

  • Regular Migration: Refugees officially cross the border with their entry documents.

  • Irregular Migration: Refugees do not enter through an official border crossing and thus violate the entry regulations.

 

Refugees who are in a country irregularly do not have the opportunity to take up legal employment.

WHERE DO MOST REFUGEES COME FROM?

The figures are alarming: more than one per cent of the world's population is on the run, of which around 42 per cent are children. The largest share is made up of refugees from Syria, followed by refugees from Venezuela, Afghanistan, South Sudan and Myanmar. A total of 20 percent of the refugees come from Central America, many of them from Honduras. In addition, the recent outbreak of war in Ukraine has of course also generated a huge number of refugees. However, it is not yet clear how exactly this affects international statistics.

 

WHY DO PEOPLE LEAVE HONDURAS AND WHAT ARE THE CAUSES OF FORCED MIGRATION?

 

Violence, poverty or persecution: these are all causes of forced migration that coerce Hondurans into making the more than 4,000km journey towards the USA. The current situation in Honduras is frightening. The country has one of the highest murder rates in the world and everything is at the mercy of organised crime. Various gangs terrorise the population and the drug trade is booming. Violence is a daily norm and social injustice is high. Often the police are powerless or simply look the other way. In addition, Honduras is significantly affected by the consequences of climate change. Extreme weather events such as droughts, hurricanes and floods destroy people's livelihoods - especially in rural areas - forcing them to flee.

Carlos Manuel Urbina - Co-Founder and Head of Community Initiatives - grew up with the topic of refugees and migration. In an interview, he talks about his experiences.

How do you perceive the issue of refugees and migration in Honduras? Do you know people who are thinking about fleeing?

 

Carlos: Migrating is a way to escape the collapse of many vital sectors such as health, education, housing and food that the country is currently enduring. It is also an opportunity to realize our goals and dreams. Most of my friends - or truthfully almost all of them - want to emigrate to Spain or the US. They don't do it only because they don't have enough money or they don't know how to pay the "coyotes" who will take them to the US.

 

What do you think are the main reasons why people want to leave Honduras?

 

Carlos: A complete lack of provisions to cover basic needs; there are no jobs, prices have gone up (inflation), there is insecurity around food and water, it is very difficult to start a business, and there are a lot of taxes for the state. The health system is awful: we don't have insurance and in the public hospitals there is no medicine and very poor care available. Further to all of this, not everyone has access to education.

SAM_7668.JPG

HONDURAS MIGRATION: HOW TO FIGHT THE CAUSES OF FORCED MIGRATION?

Desperate, poor and without prospects, Honduran women decide to make the dangerous flight. But unfortunately, help for refugees is usually not to be expected in Mexico or Guatemala and the dream of emigration comes to an abrupt end.

 

It makes more sense to fight the causes of forced migration locally, to create structures that will enable people to live a stable life at home. At The Opportunity Project, we offer support from the outside and show families and communities how to make the most of their opportunities to stay in their country. Our goal is to work with Hondurans to break the cycle of poverty. Children, adolescents and adults gain access to education and learn how to build self-determined, sustainable lives. Would you like to support our work? Then please help us with a donation:

 

WHAT IS THE IMPACT OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC ON THE ISSUE OF REFUGEES AND MIGRATION IN HONDURAS

 

The COVID-19 pandemic has made the current situation in Honduras even worse. Around 70 percent of Honduran women work in the informal sector - such as selling fruit or vegetables on the street - and live from hand to mouth. Due to the pandemic, they have lost their jobs and have slipped into extreme poverty. There are too few medicines available in the country and the hospitals are overcrowded. The whole situation is exacerbating the social inequality which was already significant, and is once again driving many people to flee Honduras.

SAM_4968.JPG

FAQ - REFUGEES AND MIGRATION FROM HONDURAS

What is migration explained simply?

Migration is Latin and means "to wander". Anyone who emigrates from their home country to live and work in another country is a migrant. There are different motivations for migration: many people flee war, poverty or famine.

 

Why do people leave Honduras?

Honduras is one of the poorest countries in the world. People fleeing Honduras leave their homeland because they find themselves in a hopeless situation. They expect to find better living conditions and higher earnings in another country, most often the US or Spain.

What are the causes of forced migration in Honduras?

Crime in Honduras is rampant; fear and violence are part of everyday life. In addition, there have been two devastating hurricanes in recent years that destroyed the livelihoods of many people. There are severe levels of poverty, no social protection and most Hondurans struggle to survive on a daily basis. More on causes of forced migration in Honduras.

 

How can the causes of forced migration in Honduras be combated?

It is important to create prospects for the future. The Opportunity Project works in poverty-stricken communities and promotes access to education and healthcare through various initiatives. We support people to create a sustainably healthy, self-determined and fulfilled life.

 
Streifen.jpg

Streifen.jpg

FLUCHT UND MIGRATION AUS HONDURAS 

10.04.2022 | BLOG

Alles zurücklassen und in eine ungewisse Zukunft aufbrechen - für viele Menschen ist das kaum vorstellbar, gehört aber leider zu unserer Realität: Nach Angaben des UN-Flüchtlingshilfswerks UNHCR sind weltweit mehr als 82 Millionen Menschen auf der Flucht. Aus Honduras flüchten jedes Jahr viele Tausend Menschen in Richtung USA. Wir alle kennen die Bilder von Flüchtenden aus Zentralamerika, die erschöpft die Grenze der USA erreichen, dort aber keinesfalls mit offenen Armen empfangen werden. Wichtig ist es daher, Fluchtursachen zu bekämpfen und Perspektiven auf ein selbstbestimmtes Leben in Honduras zu bieten. Genau hier setzt die Arbeit von The Opportunity Project an.

 

Wir freuen uns, wenn Du unsere Arbeit mit einer Spende unterstützt und hilfst, Fluchtursachen zu bekämpfen.

SAM_4894_be.jpg

INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

WAS BEDEUTET FLUCHT?

Verlässt jemand sein Zuhause wegen eines Kriegs oder Furcht vor Verfolgung, spricht man von Flucht. Im Sinne des Völkerrechts handelt es sich um eine geflüchtete Person, wenn sie ihr Land aus "Furcht vor Verfolgung wegen ihrer Rasse, ihrer Religion, ihrer Nationalität, Zugehörigkeit zu einer bestimmten sozialen Gruppe oder ihrer politischen Überzeugung" verlässt.

 

WAS IST DER UNTERSCHIED ZWISCHEN FLUCHT UND MIGRATION?

 

Die Bezeichnungen werden oftmals synonym verwendet, dennoch gibt es einen Unterschied zwischen Flucht und Migration: Ein Migrant ist jemand, der seine Heimat aus eigenem Antrieb verlässt, um sich an einem anderen Ort ein besseres Leben aufzubauen. Im Gegensatz dazu steht ein Geflüchteter, der durch äußere Umstände getrieben wird.

SAM_3800_be.jpg
 

WELCHE ARTEN VON MIGRATION GIBT ES?

Migration gibt es, seit es Menschen gibt. Früher zogen die Menschen der Nahrung hinterher. Heute ist es vor allem die Aussicht auf bessere Lebensumstände. Es gibt zwei Arten von Migration:

  • Reguläre Migration: Geflüchtete gelangen mit ihren Einreisedokumenten offiziell über die Grenze

  • Irreguläre Migration: Flüchtende reisen nicht über einen offiziellen Grenzübergang ein und verstoßen damit gegen die Einreisebestimmungen

 

Geflüchtete, die sich irregulär im Land aufhalten, haben keine Möglichkeit, eine Arbeit aufzunehmen.

WOHER KOMMEN DIE MEISTEN FLÜCHTENDEN?

Die Zahlen sind erschreckend, mehr als ein Prozent der Weltbevölkerung ist auf der Flucht, davon sind rund 42 Prozent Kinder. Den größten Anteil machen Geflüchtete aus Syrien aus, danach folgen Flüchtende aus Venezuela, Afghanistan, dem Südsudan und Myanmar. Insgesamt 20 Prozent der flüchtenden Menschen kommen aus Zentralamerika, viele davon aus Honduras. Darüber hinaus hat natürlich auch der kürzlich ausgebrochene Krieg in der Ukraine einen Einfluss auf den Anteil der Flüchtenden. Es ist jedoch noch nicht klar, wie genau sich dies auf die Statistiken auswirkt.

 

HONDURAS FLÜCHTENDE: WARUM VERLASSEN MENSCHEN DAS LAND UND WELCHE FLUCHTURSACHEN GIBT ES? 

 

Gewalt, Armut oder Verfolgung, das alles sind Fluchtursachen, die dazu führen, dass Hondurianer sich auf den mehr als 4.000 Kilometer langen Weg in Richtung USA machen. Die aktuelle Lage in Honduras ist beängstigend. Im Land herrscht eine der höchsten Mordraten weltweit und alles liegt in der Hand der organisierten Kriminalität. Verschiedene Banden terrorisieren die Bevölkerung und der Drogenhandel boomt. Gewalt ist an der Tagesordnung und die soziale Ungerechtigkeit ist hoch. Oftmals ist die Polizei machtlos oder schaut einfach weg. Darüber hinaus ist Honduras stark von den Folgen des Klimawandels betroffen. Extreme Wetterereignisse wie Dürren, Wirbelstürme und Überschwemmungen zerstören die Lebensgrundlagen der Menschen, insbesondere in ländlichen Gebieten, und zwingen sie zur Flucht.

Carlos Manuel Urbina - Co-Founder und Head of Community Initiatives ist mit dem Thema Flucht und Migration groß geworden. In einem Interview berichtet er über seine Erfahrungen. 

Wie nimmst Du das Thema Flucht und Migration in Honduras wahr? Kennst Du Menschen, die mit dem Gedanken spielen, zu fliehen?

 

Carlos: Als eine Möglichkeit, den Zerfall vieler lebenswichtiger Bereiche wie Gesundheit, Bildung, Wohnen und Ernährung zu überwinden, den das Land derzeit durchmacht. Als eine Gelegenheit, unsere Ziele und Träume zu verwirklichen. Die meisten meiner Freunde, oder fast alle, wollen nach Spanien oder in die USA auswandern. Sie tun es nicht, weil sie kein Geld haben oder nicht wissen, wie sie den "Schlepper" bezahlen sollen, der sie in die USA bringt.

 

Was sind Deiner Meinung nach die Hauptgründe, warum Menschen Honduras verlassen wollen?

 

Carlos: Es gibt keine Bedingungen, um die Grundbedürfnisse zu decken, es gibt keine Arbeitsplätze, die Preise sind gestiegen (Inflation), es herrscht Unsicherheit, es ist sehr schwierig ein Unternehmen zu gründen, und es fallen eine Menge Steuern für den Staat an. Die Gesundheit ist schlecht, wir haben keine Versicherung und in den öffentlichen Krankenhäusern gibt es keine Medikamente und eine sehr schlechte Versorgung. Nicht jeder hat Zugang zu Bildung.

SAM_7668.JPG

HONDURAS MIGRATION: WIE KÖNNEN FLUCHTURSACHEN BEKÄMPFT WERDEN? 

Verzweifelt, arm, und ohne Perspektive entscheiden Hondurianerinnen sich für die gefährliche Flucht. Doch leider ist in Mexiko oder Guatemala meist keine Hilfe für Flüchtende zu erwarten und der Traum von einem besseren Leben findet ein schnelles Ende.

 

Es ist sinnvoller, Fluchtursachen vor Ort zu bekämpfen, Strukturen zu schaffen und den Menschen ein stabiles Leben in der Heimat zu ermöglichen. Wir von The Opportunity Project bieten Unterstützung von außen und zeigen Familien und Gemeinschaften, wie sie ihre Chancen nutzen, im Land zu bleiben. Unser Ziel ist es, gemeinsam mit den Hondurianern den Kreislauf der Armut zu durchbrechen. Jugendliche und Erwachsene erhalten Zugang zu Bildung und lernen, wie sie sich ein selbstbestimmtes, nachhaltiges Leben aufbauen. Du möchtest unsere Arbeit unterstützen? Dann hilf uns mit einer Spende:

 

WIE WIRKT SICH DIE CORONA PANDEMIE AUF DAS THEMA FLUCHT UND MIGRATION AUS?

 

Die Corona Pandemie hat die aktuelle Lage in Honduras noch einmal verschlimmert. Rund 70 Prozent der Honduriannerinnen arbeiten im informellen Sektor und leben quasi von der Hand in den Mund. Durch COVID haben sie ihre Jobs verloren und sind in eine extreme Armut gerutscht. Es gibt zu wenig Medikamente, die Krankenhäuser sind überfüllt. Die gesamte Situation verstärkt noch einmal die ohnehin schon bestehende soziale Ungleichheit und treibt erneut zahlreiche Menschen in die Flucht aus Honduras.

SAM_4968.JPG

FAQ - FLUCHT UND MIGRATION AUS HONDURAS

Was ist Migration einfach erklärt?

Migration ist lateinisch und bedeutet "wandern". Wer aus der Heimat in ein anderes Land auswandert, um dort zu leben und zu arbeiten, ist ein Migrant. Es gibt verschiedene Beweggründe für die Migration, viele Menschen fliehen vor Krieg, Armut oder Hungersnöten. 

 

Warum verlassen Menschen Honduras?

Honduras ist eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt. Honduras Flüchtende verlassen ihre Heimat, weil sie sich in einer ausweglosen Situation befinden. Von der Migration versprechen Sie sich bessere Lebensbedingungen und einen höheren Verdienst.

 

Was sind Fluchtursachen in Honduras?

Die Kriminalität in Honduras ist hoch, Angst und Gewalt gehören zum Alltag. Zudem gab es in den letzten Jahren zwei verheerende Wirbelstürme, die vielen Menschen die Lebensgrundlage zerstörten. Es gibt eine hohe Armut, keinen sozialen Schutz und die meisten Hondurianer kämpfen täglich ums Überleben. Mehr zu Fluchtursachen in Honduras

 

Wie können Fluchtursachen in Honduras bekämpft werden?

Wichtig ist, Zukunftsperspektiven zu schaffen. The Opportunity Project arbeitet in von Armut betroffenen Gemeinden und unterstützt mit verschiedenen Initiativen unter anderem den Zugang zu Bildung und zur Gesundheitsvorsorge. Die Menschen erfahren, wie sie sich mit einem dauerhaften Einkommen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben aufbauen.

 
Streifen.jpg