Streifen.jpg

TATIANA'S STORY: THE INSPIRATION BEHIND THE TOP SCHOLARSHIP INITIATIVE

16.06.2022 | BLOG

In this blog article, I - Julian (CEO & CO-Founder of The Opportunity Project) - would like to share a story with you which is very close to my heart. It is the story of how the idea of the TOP Scholarship Initiative came about and more specifically, the story of an inspiring girl called Tatiana.

 

With every hour of work and every donation from generous people such as you, we are striving to create opportunities for people like Tatiana so that they can lead a fulfilling, self-determined life. We are striving to level the playing field.

 

I hope that you enjoy reading about Tatiana, one of our TOP Scholars for 2022.

It was June of 2021 and we had arrived at La Montañita just as lunch was being distributed as part of the Food for Thought initiative. The Food for Thought initiative has shown that a free lunch is a great incentive for children to come to school regularly and for the long term, and therefore ensures that more and more children successfully complete primary school. 

 

Shortly after our arrival, I met a familiar face. It was a girl named Tatiana. I had already met Tatiana during my first visit to Honduras three years ago. At that time, I stayed with her family for a while and had the opportunity to get to know life in this village a little better. I remember Tatiana as a very helpful, curious and clever child. While Tatiana was still in primary school in 2019, she has since completed it and now spends her time helping her mother cook and distribute food to the school children as part of the Food for Thought initiative.

SAM_3506_be.jpg

Tatiana at 9 years old in front of her primary school in 2019

While I was of course delighted that she was supporting The Opportunity Project, it was hard for me to comprehend that Tatiana had "finished" her school career at just 12 years old. Wasn't she supposed to go to secondary school and have the opportunity to learn more? Was that really all there was for her?

After Tatiana had finished helping her mother with the food and all the primary school children had finished eating, the lessons started again. Since there is an extreme shortage of teachers in Honduras, one teacher is usually responsible for all the students in a school. The schools are relatively small (La Montañita has about 25 students), but the age groups range from 5 to 13 years, which makes it difficult to provide high-quality lessons to all, simultaneously. Of course, the teachers do their best to cater for all the children, setting them up with different tasks.

WHAT IS A REFUGEE?

SAM_3543.JPG

Julian with Tatiana, her brother and cousins in 2019

It was amazing for us to see how Tatiana, without being asked, grabbed a few of the older children and helped them with the maths tasks they had to do. A few minutes later, she was standing at the blackboard explaining long arithmetic to the children. You could see how much Tatiana was enjoying herself in this teaching role, challenging herself cognitively and helping the others to understand the material.

In a conversation some time later, I finally had the chance to learn more about her current situation. When I asked her why she doesn't go to a secondary school, she answered: "I would like to go, but unfortunately there is no school like that in the area." Of course, she was absolutely right. The nearest secondary school is in Talanga, a small town about 1.5 hours away by car or bus. She went on to say "...besides, my parents can't afford the school fees, materials and uniform".

 

Wow. I had to let that sink in. Despite knowing from personal experience that people in these communities face many challenges, some situations are simply shocking. I had to think of my own educational career. For me, my siblings and friends, there was never any question that after primary school we would go to secondary school and then have the opportunity to study or train for further skills. But in Europe, we are simply in an extremely privileged situation and the reality in Honduras is - unfortunately - vastly different. 

At that moment it was clear that we have to change something here. On one hand, ambitious children like Tatiana must not be left without further educational opportunities, and on the other hand, we can only create long-term change in communities if we support further options for children after primary school. It is the only logical step to follow up on the other initiatives and ensure that lasting, even more meaningful change is achieved.

SAM_8570.JPG
SAM_8598_edited.jpg

Tatiana the new teacher of La Montanita?

The TOP Scholarship Initiative was born out of this morning in La Montanita. An initiative that aims to give children and young people in rural Honduras access to secondary school after completing primary school. 

 

As always, we wanted to make sure that we did this right. With the help of our partners in Honduras, we researched the full and complete costs of a scholarship to secondary school (including the necessary books, materials, uniform, fees and transport costs). Next, we concluded that it would be most effective and beneficial for the communities to select four children who were determined, committed and passionate about continuing their education. We talked with the teachers, parents and community leaders, visited the homes of the school children and spent some time getting to know them. We asked any interested children who had completed primary school to fill out an application for the scholarship. Choosing the four scholars was undoubtedly our biggest challenge, as of course we want to support all of the people who want to continue their education. However, we maintained that it would be best to select four students for now so that we could support them wholly.

SAM_9654.JPG

Tatiana: One of the 4 children selected for the TOP scholarship

Tatiana wrote an excellent application, expressing how much she loved going to school and that it was her dream to become a teacher someday and help the people in her community. To read her inspiring words and realise that Tatiana exemplified that our work in Honduras was making a real difference brought so much joy to our hearts. We are truly on the path to creating lasting change for people like Tatiana and so many others in her community. We are honoured to know and support Tatiana, and are sure that with your help, we can ensure that she achieves the bright future she deserves.

Streifen.jpg

Streifen.jpg

TATIANA'S GESCHICHTE: DIE INSPIRATION HINTER DER TOP STIPENDIEN INITIATIVE

16.06.2022 | BLOG

Mein Name ist Julian und ich bin CEO & Co-Founder von The Opportunity Project. Seit 2021 leite ich die gemeinnützige Organisation und treffe auf dieser spannenden Reise immer wieder auf Menschen, die mich mit Ihren außergewöhnlichen Geschichten inspirieren.

 

Heute möchte ich eine der Geschichten mit Dir teilen, die mir besonders am Herzen liegt. Und zwar geht es um ein Mädchen namens Tatiana und der Entstehung der TOP Stipendien Initiative.

 

Mit jeder investierten Arbeitsstunde und jeder Spende von großzügigen Menschen wie Dir sind wir bemüht, Chancen für Menschen wie Tatiana zu schaffen und ihr dadurch ein erfülltes, selbstbestimmtes Leben zu ermöglichen.

 

Ich wünsche Dir viel Freude dabei, mehr über Tatiana – eine unserer TOP Stipendiatinnen 2022 – zu erfahren.

Es war Juni 2021, als wir in der Schule in dem kleinen Dorf La Montañita ankamen, wo gerade im Rahmen der Food for Thought Initiative das Mittagessen ausgeteilt wurde. Die Food for Thought Initiative hat gezeigt, dass ein kostenloses Mittagessen für alle anwesenden Kinder ein großer Anreiz ist, regelmäßig und langfristig in die Schule zu gehen. Die Initiative sorgt dafür, dass immer mehr Kinder erfolgreich die Grundschule abschließen können. 

 

Kurz nach unserer Ankunft ist mir direkt ein bekanntes Gesicht begegnet. Es war ein Mädchen namens Tatiana. Tatiana hatte ich schon während meines ersten Besuchs in Honduras vor drei Jahren kennengelernt. Damals habe ich für einige Zeit bei ihrer Familie gewohnt und hatte dadurch die Möglichkeit, das Leben in diesem Dorf etwas besser kennenzulernen. Tatiana ist mir als ein sehr hilfsbereites, interessiertes und cleveres Kind in Erinnerung geblieben.

SAM_3506_be.jpg

Tatiana mit 9 Jahren vor ihrer Grundschule in 2019

Während sie 2019 selbst noch zur Grundschule gegangen ist, hat sie diese mittlerweile abgeschlossen und verbrachte nun ihre Zeit damit, im Rahmen der Food for Thought Initiative ihrer Mutter beim Kochen und bei der Essensverteilung an die Schulkinder zu helfen. Obwohl ich mich gefreut habe, dass sie The Opportunity Project unterstützt, war es für mich schwer zu begreifen, dass Tatiana mit gerade mal 12 Jahren ihre schulische Laufbahn abgeschlossen hatte. Sollte sie denn nicht auf eine weiterführende Schule gehen und die Möglichkeiten bekommen, weitere Dinge zu lernen? War das wirklich schon alles?

WAS BEDEUTET FLUCHT?

SAM_3543.JPG

Julian mit Tatiana, ihrem Bruder und Cousins in 2019

Nachdem Tatiana fertig war, ihrer Mutter bei der Essensausgabe zu helfen und alle Grundschulkinder aufgegessen hatten, ging der Unterricht wieder los. Da in Honduras ein extremer Lehrermangel herrscht, ist üblicherweise ein Lehrer für alle Schüler*innen einer Schule zuständig. Die Schulen sind relativ klein, (La Montañita hat ca. 25 Schüler*innen) jedoch erstrecken sich die Altersklassen von 5-13 Jahre, was einen qualitativ hochwertigen Unterricht schwer macht. Die Lehrer geben dennoch ihr bestes, allen Kindern mit verschiedenen Aufgaben gerecht zu werden.

 

Es überraschte mich sehr, als sich Tatiana unaufgefordert eine paar der älteren Kinder schnappte und ihnen half die Matheaufgaben zu erledigen. Wenige Minuten später stand sie an der Tafel und erklärte den Kindern längere Rechenaufgaben. Man konnte sehen, wie viel Spaß Tatiana in dieser Rolle als Lehrerin hatte, sich selbst kognitiv herausforderte und den anderen half, den Lernstoff zu verstehen.

In einem Gespräch hatte ich einige Zeit später schließlich die Chance, etwas mehr über ihre derzeitige Situation zu erfahren. Auf die Frage, warum sie denn nicht auf eine weiterführende Schule geht, antwortete sie: “Ich würde gerne, aber so eine Schule gibt es hier in der Umgebung leider nicht”. Damit hatte sie vollkommen Recht. Die nächste weiterführende Schule liegt in Talanga, einer Kleinstadt ca. 1,5 h mit dem Auto oder Bus entfernt. Weiter sagte sie “...außerdem können meine Eltern die Schulgebühren, Materialien und die Uniform nicht bezahlen”.

 

Puh. Das musste ich erstmal sacken lassen. Trotz des klaren Bewusstseins, dass die Menschen in diesen Gemeinden vor vielen Herausforderungen stehen, sind manche Situation schockierend. Ich musste an meine eigene Bildungslaufbahn denken. Für mich, meinen Geschwistern und Freunden stand nie in Frage, dass wir nach der Grundschule auf eine weiterführende Schule gehen und anschließend die Möglichkeit haben, in Form eines Studiums oder einer Ausbildung weitere Fähigkeiten zu erlernen. Aber in Deutschland befinden wir uns eben in einer extrem privilegierten Situation und die Realität in Honduras sieht leider anders aus.

SAM_8570.JPG
SAM_8598_edited.jpg

Tatiana die neue Lehrerin in La Montanita?

In diesem Moment wurde mir klar, dass wir hier etwas ändern müssen. Wir müssen ambitionierten Kindern wie Tatiana durch Bildungsmöglichkeiten nach der Grundschule neue Perspektiven bieten. Es ist der entscheidende Schritt, um an die anderen Initiativen anzuknüpfen, diese weiterzudenken und sicherzustellen, dass ein dauerhafter, bedeutungsvoller Wandel erreicht wird. 

 

An diesem Morgen in La Montañita ist die TOP Stipendien Initiative entstanden. Eine Initiative, die Kindern und Jugendlichen im ländlichen Honduras nach Abschluss der Grundschule Zugang zu einer weiterführenden Schule geben soll.

Mit Hilfe unserer Partner in Honduras haben wir die vollständigen Kosten eines Stipendiums für die weiterführende Schule (einschließlich der erforderlichen Bücher, Unterrichtsmaterialien, Uniform, Schulgebühren und Transportkosten) ermittelt. Daraufhin kamen wir zu dem Entschluss, dass es am sinnvollsten ist, vier Kinder auszuwählen, die zielstrebig, engagiert und motiviert ihre Schullaufbahn fortsetzen wollen. Anschließend sprachen wir mit den Lehrer*innen, Eltern und Gemeindeleiter*innen, besuchten die Häuser der Schulkinder und verbrachten einige Zeit damit, sie kennen zu lernen. Schließlich baten wir alle interessierten Kinder, die die Grundschule bereits abgeschlossen hatten, eine Bewerbung für das Stipendium auszufüllen. Die Auswahl der vier Stipendiat*innen war zweifellos unsere größte Herausforderung.  Am liebsten würden wir alle Menschen unterstützen, die ihre Ausbildung fortsetzen wollen. Wir hielten es jedoch für das Beste, zunächst vier Schüler*innen auszuwählen, damit wir sie vollständig und langfristig unterstützen können.

SAM_9654.JPG

Tatiana: Eine der 4 ausgewählten Kinder für das TOP Stipendium

Tatiana schrieb eine hervorragende Bewerbung, in der sie zum Ausdruck brachte, wie gerne sie zur Schule geht und dass es ihr Traum ist, eines Tages Lehrerin zu werden und den Menschen in ihrer Community zu helfen. Ihre inspirierenden Worte zu lesen und zu merken, dass Tatiana ein Beispiel dafür ist, dass unsere Arbeit in Honduras wirklich etwas bewirkt, hat uns zutiefst berührt. Wir sind wirklich auf dem Weg, dauerhafte Veränderungen für Menschen wie Tatiana und so viele andere in ihrer Gemeinde zu schaffen. Es ist eine Ehre für uns, Tatiana zu unterstützen. Wir hoffen ihr, gemeinsam mit Dir, eine bessere Zukunft zu ermöglichen.

Streifen.jpg