Streifen.jpg

CLIMATE CHANGE IN HONDURAS

16.09.2022 | BLOG 

The sun scorches down from the sky, a drop of sweat runs down José's forehead. He shields his face from the sun with his hand and lets his gaze wander anxiously over his field. If it doesn't rain soon, the corn and beans will dry up - and with them the harvest that he, his wife and their two sons depend on to live for the next few months. 

 

Many people in Honduras are like José and his family. Although Honduras itself contributes little to climate change, the country is hit particularly hard by its consequences: Droughts and hurricanes are taking away people's livelihoods.

 

The Opportunity Project helps them to become more resilient to the effects of climate change - so that they can build a self-determined life for themselves in the long term.

SAM_4949_be.jpg

TABLE OF CONTENTS

DEFINITION WHAT EXACTLY IS CLIMATE CHANGE?

 

Our planet is heating up too much and the reason is us humans - as 97% of climate researchers worldwide agree.¹ The climate has always changed, with ice ages alternating with warm periods. But since the beginning of industrialisation, the temperature has been increasing unusually fast. This rapid warming is beyond natural fluctuations and cannot be explained by natural influences. It is mainly caused by our emission of greenhouse gases.

WHAT ARE THE CAUSES OF CLIMATE CHANGE?

 

Humans intensify the natural greenhouse effect

Greenhouse gases are not fundamentally a bad thing: the natural greenhouse effect is what makes our life on Earth possible in the first place. The sun's rays hit the earth, the earth in turn radiates heat and this is stored in the atmosphere by greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide (CO2) and methane. Without them, the Earth would be an uninhabitable ice desert at -18 degrees. But because of us humans, the level of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere has risen extremely sharply. The CO2 concentration today is higher than at any time in the last 600,000 years.² To put it plainly: the atmosphere is heating up too much.

Where do greenhouse gas emissions come from?

Man-made global warming began when the first steam engines blew their clouds of exhaust into the sky. Since the industrial revolution around 1850, prosperity and wealth in the industrialised countries has steadily increased - by burning raw fossil materials such as coal, oil and natural gas. A large proportion of climate-damaging greenhouse gas emissions are therefore caused by industrialised countries today. In 2020, annual CO2 emissions were 7.7 tonnes per person in Germany, for example, and only 1.09 tonnes per person in Honduras.³ The greenhouse gases are mainly produced by burning raw materials for electricity, heat, industry, transport and agriculture.

 

CLIMATE CHANGE TODAY: WHAT ARE THE CONSEQUENCES OF THE CLIMATE CRISIS?

Almost every day, the news reports on the impacts that climate change is already having in our world. Compared to pre-industrial times, the average global temperature has increased by 1.2 degrees.⁴ This may not sound like much, but it has devastating consequences for humans and nature:

  • Extreme weather events:
    Families facing the destruction of their homes, forests burned, people and animals swept away by floods - climate change is causing more and more extreme weather events around the world. Hurricanes, droughts, heat waves and floods caused over 475,000 deaths and $2.56 trillion in damage between 2000 and 2019.⁵

  • Water shortages and crop failures: 
    In many parts of the world, higher temperatures and lack of rainfall lead to a shortage of water. When heavy rains and floods set in, the soil is eroded and destroyed - and with it the harvests.

 

  • Melting ice, higher sea levels:
    The ice on Earth is melting at an unprecedented rate. The North Pole could be completely ice-free in summer as early as 2035.⁶ This issue creates a vicious circle: the less ice there is, the less solar radiation is reflected back into space, which in turn increases global warming. As a result, sea levels rise and make entire coastal regions uninhabitable.

Ausgetrockneter Boden_Janine.png
  • Thawing permafrost: 
    As permafrost thaws in Siberia and other areas, methane is released, which heats the climate 21 times more than CO2. As a result, even more methane escapes. If all permafrost were to thaw, as much methane could be released as the entire amount of CO2 we have emitted to date.⁷
     

  • Acidifying oceans: 
    Oceans absorb about a quarter of man-made CO2 emissions. This lowers their pH value, i.e. the water becomes more acidic. Since 1850, the oceans have become almost 30% more acidic. This damages calcifying creatures like corals in particular - with serious consequences: 400 million people worldwide depend on coral reefs for food and protection from storm waves.⁸

 

​Researchers predict on the basis of climate models that without global efforts to reduce greenhouse gases, the temperature could rise by up to 5°C compared to pre-industrial times. This would result in drastically increased risks for the habitability of our earth.

 

HOW IS CLIMATE CHANGE AFFECTING HONDURAS?

Extreme weather exacerbates food insecurity in the country

SAM_3801_be.jpg

Honduras contributes only 0.03% of global CO2 emissions.⁹ At the same time, it is one of the countries most affected by the climate crisis. Many people live in rural areas - 60% of them below the poverty line. They live on home-grown corn and beans and depend on rain for this. But climate change causes heat and droughts all year round and hurricanes and floods in autumn. These weather extremes destroy crops and worsen food insecurity. 

 

Malnutrition has a particular impact on children's cognitive and physical development. They miss school due to illness, learn less due to a lack of concentration and often drop out of school. This lack of education prevents their entire communities from developing sustainably.

Hurricanes destroy people’s livelihoods

At the end of 2020, two particularly severe hurricanes, Eta and Iota, caused catastrophic damage. Masses of water and landslides swept away the often dilapidated houses and roads as well as crops. Many families lost everything. As in other developing countries, people in Honduras are defenceless against climate risks. They are less able to cope with the consequences of extreme weather because they have no savings or government aid to fall back on. Together with violence, poverty and corruption, the consequences of climate change are forcing many people to flee from Honduras.

Carlos Manuel Urbina - Co-Founder and Head of Community Initiatives is experiencing first-hand the consequences of climate change for the people of Honduras. In the following interview, he reports on his experiences.

How do you perceive climate change in Honduras?
 

Carlos: The effects of climate change are clearly felt in Honduras, especially in the rural, more vulnerable areas of the country. We are experiencing very high temperatures that are drying out our fields. In addition, there are floods and dangerous landslides. Climate change is changing the seasons. Normally, May is the rainy season, but it has not rained in May for three years now.

 

What are the consequences for the people of Honduras?

Carlos: Climate change affects agricultural production and also biodiversity. The families living here can no longer rely on being able to live off their harvests. They sow corn and beans, but the plants dry up. The lack of rain makes the soil infertile. Many people, young and old, are therefore malnourished or suffer from food insecurity. 

SAM_7668.JPG
 

HOW CAN WE HELP THE PEOPLE IN HONDURAS?

Strengthen food security

The consequences of climate change are preventing the people of Honduras from building a better life for themselves, even though they themselves contribute so little to global warming. The Opportunity Project therefore helps them cope with the challenges that the climate crisis brings to the peoples daily lives. 

 

Our Gardens for Growth Initiative helps families to become more resilient to weather extremes and to secure their food.

We provide them with seeds, tools and knowledge to start their own vegetable gardens.

In regular workshops, they learn how best to deal with droughts, set up irrigation systems and make the soil more fertile with compost. To reduce the risk of crop failure, they grow mixed crops of carrots, courgette, tomatoes, lettuce and other fruits and vegetables.

Gardens_for_Growth_gegen_Klimawandel_Honduras.png

Help people to become more resilient

By growing their own vegetables, people can eat healthier. As a result, children's cognitive and physical abilities improve. They are less likely to miss school and their education improves - which is the basis for building a self-determined life in the long term. 

 

In addition, by saving the surplus vegetables, families can build up reserves to become more resilient to the effects of extreme weather events. Would you like to help the people in Honduras to adapt their lives to climate change? If so, we would be delighted to receive your donation.

Zusätzlich können sich Familien durch den Verkauf von überschüssigem Gemüse Rücklagen schaffen, um widerstandsfähiger gegen die Folgen von Wetterextremen zu werden. Möchtest Du den Menschen in Honduras helfen, ihr Leben an den Klimawandel anzupassen? Dann freuen wir uns über Deine Spende:

 

WHAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT CLIMATE CHANGE?

Climate targets worldwide: How can governments limit their contributions to climate change?

Climate change adaptation measures will reach their limits if global warming continues. We must therefore tackle the causes of climate change. At the UN climate summit in Paris in 2015, the world's governments agreed:

Global warming should remain below 2 °C compared to pre-industrial times - ideally even below 1.5 °C. Otherwise, there is a threat of uncontrollable risks to life on Earth. 

 

To achieve this goal, global CO2 emissions from the burning of coal, oil and gas must approach zero by 2050. To achieve this, industrialised countries must step up their climate protection efforts now and help developing countries to implement solutions against climate change - from new energy sources and more energy efficiency to a more sustainable lifestyle.

Protecting the climate - what can I do?

In addition to policymakers, you can also help to save the climate in your everyday life. Every contribution counts! If we all reduce our CO2 emissions, it will have a big effect in total. Those who support climate protection often even save money and live healthier. 

 

With these simple tips you can reduce your carbon footprint:

 

  • Eat fewer animal products

  • Shop locally, regionally and seasonally

  • Avoid unnecessary plastic packaging ¹⁰

  • Plan your shopping well to avoid food waste

  • Drink tap water 

  • Cycle or walk short distances instead of driving

  • Plan holidays by train, bus or ferry if possible

  • Switch to a certified green electricity provider

  • Donate to climate protection projects

  • Choose electrical appliances with low power consumption

  • Switch off appliances instead of only using stand-by mode

  • Repair things instead of throwing them away

  • Consume less and buy used instead of new

 

Together, we can alleviate climate change so that life on our planet remains worth living in the future - for the people of Honduras and around the world.

WEITERFÜHRENDE QUELLEN:

  1. John Cook et al.: „Quantifying the consensus on anthropogenic global warming in the scientific literature“ (2013), Environmental Research Letters 8(2), https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.1088/1748-9326/8/2/024024

  2. „Klimawandel und seine Folgen“, Massive Open Online Course des Deutschen Klima Konsortiums und WWF, https://www.wwf.de/aktiv-werden/bildungsarbeit-lehrerservice/mooc-online-vorlesung

  3. Country Fact Sheets Honduras / Germany, Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research (EDGAR), European Commission, https://edgar.jrc.ec.europa.eu/country_profile/HND und https://edgar.jrc.ec.europa.eu/country_profile/DEU

  4. Our Planet, Our Future – An Urgent Call for Action. Statement, https://www.nationalacademies.org/news/2021/04/nobel-prize-laureates-and-other-experts-issue-urgent-call-for-action-after-our-planet-our-future-summit

  5. Globaler Klima-Risiko-Index (2021), Germanwatch e.V., https://www.germanwatch.org/de/19777

  6.  „Arktis ohne Eis?“, WWF, https://www.wwf.de/themen-projekte/projektregionen/arktis/arktis-ohne-eis

  7. „Eisschmelze: Das große Rauschen“ (2019), radioWissen Bayern 2, https://www.br.de/mediathek/podcast/radiowissen/eisschmelze-das-grosse-rauschen/1788905

  8. „Das Wissen zu saureren Meeren auf einen Blick“, Alfred-Wegener-Institut (AWI), https://www.awi.de/im-fokus/ozeanversauerung/fakten-zur-ozeanversauerung.html

  9. Country Fact Sheet Honduras, Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research (EDGAR), European Commission, https://edgar.jrc.ec.europa.eu/country_profile/HND

  10. „Klimawandel: Plastik heizt das Klima an“, Heinrich Böll Stiftung, https://www.boell.de/de/2019/06/06/klimawandel-plastik-heizt-das-klima

 
Streifen.jpg

Streifen.jpg

KLIMAWANDEL IN HONDURAS

16.09.2022 | BLOG | VON JANINE PLICKERT

Die Sonne brennt vom Himmel, José rinnt ein Schweißtropfen von der Stirn. Er schirmt mit der Hand die Sonne ab und lässt den Blick besorgt über sein Feld schweifen. Wenn es nicht bald regnet, werden der Mais und die Bohnen vertrocknen – und damit die Ernte, von der seine Frau, ihre beiden Söhne und er in den nächsten Monaten leben wollten. 

Vielen Menschen in Honduras geht es wie José und seiner Familie. Obwohl Honduras selbst nur wenig zum Klimawandel beiträgt, ist das Land besonders stark von den Folgen betroffen: Dürren und Wirbelstürme nehmen den Menschen ihre Lebensgrundlage.

 

The Opportunity Project hilft ihnen, widerstandsfähiger gegen die Folgen der Klimakrise zu werden – damit sie sich langfristig ein selbstbestimmtes Leben aufbauen können.
 

SAM_4949_be.jpg

INHALTSVERZEICHNIS

KLIMAWANDEL DEFINITION: WAS GENAU IST DER KLIMAWANDEL?

 

Unser Planet heizt sich zu stark auf – und der Grund dafür sind wir Menschen, da sind sich 97 % der Klimaforscher weltweit einig.¹ Das Klima hat sich zwar schon immer verändert und Eiszeiten wechselten sich mit Warmzeiten ab. Doch seit Beginn der Industrialisierung steigt die Temperatur ungewöhnlich schnell an. Diese rasante Erwärmung liegt außerhalb der natürlichen Schwankungen und ist nicht durch natürliche Einflüsse erklärbar. Sie wird hauptsächlich verursacht durch unseren Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen.

WELCHE URSACHEN HAT DER KLIMAWANDEL?

 

Menschen verstärken den natürlichen Treibhauseffekt

Treibhausgase sind grundsätzlich nichts Schlimmes: Der natürliche Treibhauseffekt macht unser Leben auf der Erde überhaupt erst möglich. Sonnenstrahlen treffen auf die Erde, die Erde strahlt wiederum Wärme ab und diese wird von Treibhausgasen wie Kohlendioxid (CO2) und Methan in der Atmosphäre gespeichert. Ohne sie wäre die Erde eine unbewohnbare Eiswüste mit -18 Grad. Doch durch uns Menschen ist der Gehalt von Treibhausgasen in der Atmosphäre extrem stark angestiegen. Die CO2-Konzentration ist heute so hoch wie noch nie in den letzten 600.000 Jahren.² Die Folge: Die Atmosphäre heizt sich zu stark auf.

Woher stammen die Treibhausgas-Emissionen?

Die menschengemachte Erderwärmung begann, als die ersten Dampfmaschinen ihre Abgaswolken in den Himmel pusteten. Seit der industriellen Revolution um 1850 hat sich der Wohlstand in den Industrieländern stetig vergrößert – indem fossile Rohstoffe wie Kohle, Öl und Erdgas verbrannt wurden. Ein großer Teil der klimaschädlichen Treibhausgas-Emissionen wird daher heute von Industrieländern verursacht. Die jährlichen CO2-Emissionen lagen 2020 zum Beispiel in Deutschland bei 7,7 Tonnen pro Person und in Honduras nur bei 1,09 Tonnen pro Person.³ Die Treibhausgase entstehen vor allem durch die Verbrennung fossiler Rohstoffe für Elektrizität, Wärme, Industrie, Verkehr und Landwirtschaft.

 

KLIMAWANDEL AKTUELL: WELCHE FOLGEN HAT DIE KLIMAKRISE?

Fast täglich berichten die Nachrichten von den Auswirkungen, die der Klimawandel aktuell bereits hat. Im Vergleich zur vorindustriellen Zeit hat sich die globale Durchschnittstemperatur um 1,2 Grad erhöht.⁴ Was nicht nach viel klingt, hat jedoch verheerende Folgen für Mensch und Natur:

  • Extreme Wetterereignisse: Familien vor den Trümmern ihrer Häuser, verbrannte Wälder, von Fluten mitgerissene Menschen und Tiere – die Klimakrise führt weltweit zu immer mehr und stärkeren Extremwetterereignissen. Wirbelstürme, Dürren, Hitzewellen und Überflutungen verursachten zwischen 2000 und 2019 über 475.000 Todesfälle und Schäden in Höhe von 2,56 Billionen US-Dollar.⁵

  • Wassermangel und Ernteausfälle: Höhere Temperaturen und ausbleibende Niederschläge führen in vielen Teilen der Welt dazu, dass das Wasser knapp wird. Setzen dann Starkregen und Überschwemmungen ein, wird der Boden abgetragen und zerstört – und mit ihm die Ernten.

  • Schmelzendes Eis, höherer Meeresspiegel: Das Eis auf der Erde schmilzt in bisher unbekanntem Ausmaß. Der Nordpol könnte bereits ab 2035 im Sommer komplett eisfrei sein. ⁶ Ein Teufelskreis: Je weniger Eis vorhanden ist, desto weniger wird die Sonnenstrahlung zurück ins All reflektiert, was wiederum die Erderwärmung verstärkt. Dadurch steigt der Meeresspiegel an und macht ganze Küstenregionen unbewohnbar.

Ausgetrockneter Boden_Janine.png
  • Tauende Permafrostböden: Indem die Permafrostböden in Sibirien und anderen Gebieten auftauen, wird Methan freigesetzt, welches das Klima 21 mal stärker aufheizt als CO2. Als Folge entweicht noch mehr Methan. Würden alle Permafrostböden auftauen, könnte so viel Methan freigesetzt werden wie die gesamte Menge unseres bisher ausgestoßenen CO2.⁷

  • Versauernde Ozeane: Ozeane nehmen etwa ein Viertel der menschengemachten CO2-Emissionen auf. Dadurch sinkt ihr pH-Wert, das heißt das Wasser wird saurer. Seit 1850 sind die Meere um fast 30 % saurer geworden. Das schädigt vor allem kalkbildende Lebewesen wie Korallen – mit schweren Folgen: 400 Millionen Menschen weltweit sind für Nahrung und Schutz vor Sturmwellen auf Korallenriffe angewiesen.

Forscher prognostizieren anhand von Klimamodellen: Ohne weltweite Anstrengungen zur Reduktion von Treibhausgasen könnte die Temperatur sogar um bis zu 5 °C im Vergleich zur vorindustriellen Zeit steigen. Das hätte drastisch erhöhte Risiken für die Bewohnbarkeit unserer Erde zur Folge.⁸

 

WIE WIRKT SICH DER KLIMAWANDEL IN HONDURAS AUS?

Extremwetter verstärkt Ernährungsunsicherheit

SAM_3801_be.jpg

Honduras trägt nur 0,03 % zu den weltweiten CO2-Emissionen bei.⁹ Gleichzeitig ist es eines der Länder, das am stärksten von der Klimakrise betroffen ist. Viele Menschen leben in ländlichen Gebieten, 60 % von ihnen unterhalb der Armutsgrenze. Sie leben von selbst angebautem Mais und Bohnen und sind dafür auf Regen angewiesen. Doch durch die Klimakrise kommt es das ganze Jahr über zu Hitze und Dürren und im Herbst zu Wirbelstürmen und Überflutungen. Diese Wetterextreme zerstören die Ernten und verschlimmern die Ernährungsunsicherheit. 

 

Die Unterernährung wirkt sich besonders auf die kognitive und körperliche Entwicklung von Kindern aus. Sie fehlen durch Krankheiten in der Schule, lernen weniger und brechen oft die Schule ab. Dieser Mangel an Bildung hindert die gesamten Gemeinden daran, sich nachhaltig zu entwickeln.

Wirbelstürme zerstören die Existenz der Menschen

Ende 2020 richteten die zwei besonders schweren Wirbelstürme Eta und Iota katastrophale Schäden an. Wassermassen und Erdrutsche rissen die häufig maroden Häuser und Straßen sowie Ernten weg. Viele Familien haben alles verloren. Wie in anderen Entwicklungsländern sind die Menschen in Honduras den Klimarisiken schutzlos ausgeliefert. Sie können die Folgen von Extremwetter schlechter bewältigen, da sie nicht auf Ersparnisse oder staatliche Hilfen zurückgreifen können. Zusammen mit Gewalt, Armut und Korruption zwingen die Folgen des Klimawandels daher viele Menschen zur Flucht aus Honduras.

Carlos Manuel Urbina - Co-Founder und Head of Community Initiatives 

erlebt vor Ort selbst, welche Folgen der Klimawandel für die Menschen in Honduras hat. Im Folgenden berichtet er von seinen Erfahrungen.

Wie nimmst du den Klimawandel in Honduras wahr?

 

Carlos: Die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels sind in Honduras deutlich spürbar, besonders in den ländlichen, anfälligeren Gebieten des Landes. Wir erleben sehr hohe Temperaturen, die unsere Felder austrocknen. Dazu kommen Überschwemmungen und gefährliche Erdrutsche. Der Klimawandel verändert die Jahreszeiten. Normalerweise ist im Mai Regenzeit, aber es hat jetzt seit drei Jahren im Mai nicht mehr geregnet.

Welche Folgen hat das für die Menschen?

 

Carlos: Der Klimawandel wirkt sich auf den landwirtschaftlichen Anbau und auch auf die Biodiversität aus. Die hier lebenden Familien können sich nicht mehr darauf verlassen, von ihren Ernten leben zu können. Sie sähen Mais und Bohnen aus, aber die Pflanzen vertrocknen. Durch den fehlenden Regen werden die Böden unfruchtbar. Viele Menschen, jung und alt, sind daher unterernährt. 

SAM_7668.JPG
 

WIE KÖNNEN WIR DEN MENSCHEN IN HONDURAS HELFEN?

Ernährungssicherheit stärken

Die Folgen des Klimawandels hindern die Menschen in Honduras daran, sich ein besseres Leben aufzubauen, obwohl sie selbst nur wenig zur Klimaerwärmung beitragen. The Opportunity Project hilft ihnen daher, mit den Herausforderungen umzugehen, die die Klimakrise in ihr tägliches Leben bringt. 

 

Unsere Gardens for Growth Initiative unterstützt Familien dabei, widerstandsfähiger gegen Wetterextreme zu werden und ihre Ernährung zu sichern. Sie erhalten von uns Saatgut, Werkzeug und Wissen, um ihren eigenen Gemüsegarten anzulegen. In regelmäßigen Workshops lernen sie, wie sie am besten mit Dürren umgehen, Bewässerungssysteme anlegen und den Boden mit Kompost fruchtbarer machen. Um das Risiko von Ernteausfällen zu verringern, bauen sie Mischkulturen mit Möhren, Zucchini, Tomaten, Salaten und weiterem Obst und Gemüse an.

Gardens_for_Growth_gegen_Klimawandel_Honduras.png

Hilf den Menschen, widerstandsfähiger zu werden

Durch den eigenen Anbau von Gemüse können sich die Menschen gesünder ernähren. Dadurch verbessern sich die kognitiven und körperlichen Fähigkeiten der Kinder. Sie fehlen seltener in der Schule und ihre Bildung verbessert sich – die Basis, um sich langfristig ein selbstbestimmtes Leben aufzubauen.

Zusätzlich können sich Familien durch den Verkauf von überschüssigem Gemüse Rücklagen schaffen, um widerstandsfähiger gegen die Folgen von Wetterextremen zu werden. Möchtest Du den Menschen in Honduras helfen, ihr Leben an den Klimawandel anzupassen? Dann freuen wir uns über Deine Spende:

 

WAS KANN MAN GEGEN DEN KLIMAWANDEL TUN?

Klimaziele weltweit: Wie können Regierungen den Klimawandel begrenzen?

Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel kommen an ihre Grenzen, wenn die Klimaerwärmung weiter voranschreitet. Wir müssen daher die Klimawandel Ursachen bekämpfen. Auf dem UN-Klimagipfel in Paris 2015 haben sich die Regierungen der Welt geeinigt: Die globale Erderwärmung soll unter 2 °C im Vergleich zur vorindustriellen Zeit bleiben – am besten sogar unter 1,5 °C. Ansonsten drohen nicht mehr kontrollierbare Risiken für das Leben auf der Erde. 


Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, muss der weltweite CO2-Ausstoß durch die Verbrennung von Kohle, Öl und Gas bis 2050 gegen Null gehen. Dafür müssen Industriestaaten ihre Anstrengungen zum Klimaschutz jetzt verstärken und Entwicklungsländern helfen, Lösungen gegen den Klimawandel umzusetzen – von neuen Energieträgern und mehr Energieeffizienz bis hin zu einem nachhaltigeren Lebensstil.

Klimaschutz – was kann ich tun?

Neben der Politik kannst auch Du im Alltag mithelfen, das Klima zu retten. Jeder Beitrag zählt! Wenn wir alle unsere CO2-Emissionen reduzieren, hat das in Summe eine große Wirkung. Wer sich für den Klimaschutz einsetzt, spart sogar häufig Geld und lebt gesünder. 


Mit diesen einfachen Tipps kannst Du Deine CO2-Bilanz verbessern:

  • Weniger tierische Produkte essen

  • Regional und saisonal einkaufen

  • Unnötige Plastikverpackungen vermeiden¹⁰

  • Einkäufe planen und Lebensmittelabfälle vermeiden

  • Leitungswasser trinken

  • Kurzstrecken mit dem Fahrrad statt Auto fahren

  • Urlaube mit Bahn, Bus oder Fahrrad planen

  • Zu einem zertifizierten Ökostrom-Anbieter wechseln

  • Spenden für Klimaschutz Projekte

  • Auf Elektrogeräte mit niedrigem Stromverbrauch achten

  • Geräte abschalten statt nur Stand-by Modus

  • Dinge möglichst reparieren statt wegwerfen

  • Weniger konsumieren und gebraucht statt neu kaufen


Zusammen können wir dem Klimawandel entgegenwirken, damit das Leben auf unserer Erde auch in Zukunft lebenswert ist – für die Menschen in Honduras und auf der ganzen Welt.

WEITERFÜHRENDE QUELLEN:

  1. John Cook et al.: „Quantifying the consensus on anthropogenic global warming in the scientific literature“ (2013), Environmental Research Letters 8(2), https://iopscience.iop.org/article/10.1088/1748-9326/8/2/024024

  2. „Klimawandel und seine Folgen“, Massive Open Online Course des Deutschen Klima Konsortiums und WWF, https://www.wwf.de/aktiv-werden/bildungsarbeit-lehrerservice/mooc-online-vorlesung

  3. Country Fact Sheets Honduras / Germany, Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research (EDGAR), European Commission, https://edgar.jrc.ec.europa.eu/country_profile/HND und https://edgar.jrc.ec.europa.eu/country_profile/DEU

  4. Our Planet, Our Future – An Urgent Call for Action. Statement, https://www.nationalacademies.org/news/2021/04/nobel-prize-laureates-and-other-experts-issue-urgent-call-for-action-after-our-planet-our-future-summit

  5. Globaler Klima-Risiko-Index (2021), Germanwatch e.V., https://www.germanwatch.org/de/19777

  6.  „Arktis ohne Eis?“, WWF, https://www.wwf.de/themen-projekte/projektregionen/arktis/arktis-ohne-eis

  7. „Eisschmelze: Das große Rauschen“ (2019), radioWissen Bayern 2, https://www.br.de/mediathek/podcast/radiowissen/eisschmelze-das-grosse-rauschen/1788905

  8. „Das Wissen zu saureren Meeren auf einen Blick“, Alfred-Wegener-Institut (AWI), https://www.awi.de/im-fokus/ozeanversauerung/fakten-zur-ozeanversauerung.html

  9. Country Fact Sheet Honduras, Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research (EDGAR), European Commission, https://edgar.jrc.ec.europa.eu/country_profile/HND

  10. „Klimawandel: Plastik heizt das Klima an“, Heinrich Böll Stiftung, https://www.boell.de/de/2019/06/06/klimawandel-plastik-heizt-das-klima

 
Streifen.jpg