SAM_0093.jpg
Streifen.jpg

WATER FOR HEALTH INITIATIVE

Kopie von SAM_9427.jpg

A CHANCE FOR HEALTH

The aim of this initiative is to create a safe, inclusive and equitable learning environment for the school children of our cooperating communities in Honduras. 

 

In order to do so, we are equipping schools with access to clean drinking water and adequate sanitation facilities, as well as learning resources for improving the children’s hygiene behaviour.

Streifen.jpg

THE THREE COMPONENTS OF THE WATER FOR HEALTH INITIATIVE

Kopie von SAM_9607.jpg

CLEAN DRINKING WATER

wasser glas.png

Diseases from dirty water kill more people every year than all forms of violence, including war. Since most rural schools in Honduras have limited or no access to clean drinking water, we provide each school with bio-sand water filters that clean the water from potential bacteria and parasites.

 

Besides ensuring the sufficient hydration of the children, the health improvements increase the physical and cognitive development of children which in turn leads to a higher learning capacity and improved attendance rates.

 
SAM_3506_be.jpg

ADEQUATE SANITATION FACILITIES

toilette.png

The second component of the Water for Health Initiative is to ensure that all schools are equipped with functional, private and safe toilets as well as hand-washing stations. While this positively impacts health and learning outcomes for all, it especially addresses the needs of girls.

 

Girls who are menstruating, in particular, would rather not go to school than have to deal with the discomfort a lack of privacy spawns. The absence of these facilities therefore heavily contributes to girls missing days at school, which can even result in girls dropping out of education altogether. This makes the Water for Health Initiative an important driver for gender equality.

 
 
shutterstock_1072895033_be.jpg

HYGIENE BEHAVIOUR

Hände waschen.png

In addition to the health risks and inequality aspect, the absence of clean drinking water and sanitation facilities sends children the wrong message about the importance of hygiene and health.

 

Therefore, the improvements in the water and sanitation infrastructure of the schools will be combined with specific workshops focusing on health and hygiene behaviour. What children learn today about hygiene and the prevention of water-borne diseases, is most likely to be passed on to their peers, family members and their future children.

WHAT WE HAVE ALREADY IMPLEMENTED

Streifen.jpg

WATER AND SANITATION IN RURAL SCHOOLS IN HONDURAS 

More than 25% of schools in rural areas have no access to basic drinking water

77% of schools in rural Honduras have no access to basic sanitation facilities

More than 80% of schools in rural Honduras have no access to basic hand-washing facilities

Land_Honduras.png

SPOTLIGHT HONDURAS

Streifen.jpg

COMMONLY WORKING TOWARDS COMMON GOALS

We are aware that community involvement is crucial for the success of the Water for Health Initiative. It increases the initiative’s acceptability within the community, enriches it with additional local knowledge and gives the community ownership of and responsibility for the new water and sanitation infrastructure. We are therefore committed to involving the broader community, as well as the parents of the school children, in several ways.

Kopie von SAM_7855.jpg

CONSTRUCTION OF FACILITIES

 

A group of parents and community members support the construction process of toilets, hand-washing stations and wells at each school. To compensate them for their physical labour, they receive a free lunch and reasonable pay.

Kopie von SAM_8945.jpg

MAINTENANCE OF FACILITIES

Once the facilities are built and in operation, parents take responsibility for maintenance. This includes cleaning and possible repair of the facilities. This is a key success factor as it ensures the sustainability of the initiative.

IMG_20190920_172646.jpg

LINKAGE TO THE LOCAL ECONOMY

We try to buy as many materials as possible from small local shops in the communities. In addition, we involve local service providers for more complex work. In this way, we strengthen the local economy as much as possible.

SUPPORT THE WATER FOR HEALTH INITIATIVE NOW

Streifen.jpg

SAM_0093.jpg
Streifen.jpg

WATER FOR HEALTH INITIATIVE

Kopie von SAM_9427.jpg

EINE CHANCE AUF GESUNDHEIT

Das Ziel dieser Initiative ist es, ein sicheres, inklusives und gerechtes Lernumfeld für die Schulkinder unserer kooperierenden Communities in Honduras zu schaffen. 

Dazu statten wir die Schulen mit Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser, angemessene sanitären Anlagen sowie mit Lernmitteln zur Verbesserung des Hygieneverhaltens der Kinder aus.

AUF DIESE WEISE KÖNNEN WIR...

Streifen.jpg

DIE DREI KOMPONENTEN DER WATER FOR HEALTH INITIATIVE

Kopie von SAM_9607.jpg

SAUBERES TRINKWASSER

wasser glas.png

Krankheiten durch schmutziges Wasser töten jedes Jahr mehr Menschen als alle Formen von Gewalt, einschließlich Krieg. Da die meisten ländlichen Schulen in Honduras keinen oder nur eingeschränkten Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser haben, versorgen wir jede Schule mit Bio-Sand-Wasserfiltern, die das Wasser von möglichen Bakterien und Parasiten reinigen.

 

Neben der Sicherstellung einer ausreichenden Flüssigkeits-versorgung der Kinder wird durch die gesundheitlichen Verbes-serungen die körperliche und kognitive Entwicklung der Kinder gefördert, was wiederum zu einer höheren Lernfähigkeit und erhöhter Anwesenheit führt.

 
SAM_3506_be.jpg

ANGEMESSENE SANITÄRE EINRICHTUNGEN

toilette.png

Die zweite Komponente der Water for Health Initiative ist es, sicherzustellen, dass alle Schulen mit funktionalen, diskreten und sicheren Toiletten sowie Waschbecken ausgestattet sind. Dies wirkt sich zwar positiv auf die Gesundheit und die Lernergebnisse aller aus, geht aber besonders auf die Bedürfnisse von Mädchen ein.

 

Vor allem Mädchen, die menstruieren, gehen lieber nicht zur Schule, als sich mit dem Unbehagen auseinanderzusetzen, der ein Mangel an Privatsphäre mit sich bringt. Das Fehlen dieser Einrichtungen trägt daher stark dazu bei, dass Mädchen in dieser Zeit nicht in die Schule gehen, was sogar dazu führen kann, dass sie die Ausbildung ganz abbrechen. Das macht die Water for Health Initiative zu einem wichtigen Motor für die Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter.

 
 
shutterstock_1072895033_be.jpg

HYGIENEVERHALTEN

Hände waschen.png

Zusätzlich zu den Gesundheitsrisiken und dem Aspekt der Ungleichheit vermittelt das Fehlen von sauberem Trinkwasser und sanitären Einrichtungen den Kindern eine falsche Botschaft über die Bedeutung von Hygiene und Gesundheit.

 

Deshalb wird die Verbesserung der Wasser- und Sanitär- Infrastruktur der Schulen mit gezielten Workshops zum Thema Gesundheits- und Hygieneverhalten kombiniert. Was die Kinder heute über Hygiene und die Vermeidung von durch Wasser übertragenen Krankheiten lernen, wird höchstwahrscheinlich an Freunde, Familienmitglieder und ihre zukünftigen Kinder weitergegeben.

WAS WIR BEREITS UMGESETZT HABEN

Streifen.jpg

WASSER- UND SANITÄRVERSORGUNG IN LÄNDLICHEN SCHULEN

Mehr als 25% der Schulen in ländlichen Gebieten haben keinen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser
 

77% der Schulen im ländlichen Honduras haben keinen Zugang zu angemessenen sanitären Einrichtungen

Mehr als 80 % der Schulen im ländlichen Honduras haben keinen Zugang zu angemessenen Handwaschvorrichtungen

Land_Honduras.png

SPOTLIGHT HONDURAS

Streifen.jpg

HERAUSFORDERUNGEN GEMEINSAM ANGEHEN

Wir sind uns bewusst, dass die Einbindung der Community entscheidend für den Erfolg der Water for Health Initiative ist. Sie erhöht die Akzeptanz der Initiative innerhalb der Gemeinde, bereichert die Initative selbst um zusätzliches lokales Wissen und gibt der Community die Verantwortung für die neue Wasser- und Sanitärinfrastruktur. Daher beziehen wir die Eltern der Schulkinder sowie die breitere Community auf verschiedene Weise ein.

Kopie von SAM_7855.jpg

BAU DER SANITÄREN ANLAGEN

 

Eine Gruppe von Eltern und Community-Mitgliedern unterstützt den Bauprozess der Toiletten, Handwaschstationen und Brunnen an der jeweiligen Schule. Als Entschädigung für die körperliche Arbeit, erhalten sie ein Mittagessen und einen fairen Lohn.

Kopie von SAM_8945.jpg

WARTUNG DER SANITÄREN ANLAGEN

Sobald die Anlagen gebaut und in Betrieb sind, übernehmen die Eltern die Verantwortung für die Instandhaltung. Dies beinhaltet die Reinigung und eventuelle Reparatur der Anlagen. Dies ist ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor, da es die Nachhaltigkeit der Initiative sicherstellt.

IMG_20190920_172646.jpg

VERKNÜPFUNG MIT DER LOKALEN WIRTSCHAFT​

Wir versuchen, so viele Baumaterialien wie möglich von kleinen lokalen Geschäften in den Gemeinden zu kaufen. Zusätzlich binden wir für komplexere Bauarbeiten lokale Dienstleister ein. Auf diese Weise stärken wir die lokale Wirtschaft so weit wie möglich.

UNTERSTÜTZE JETZT DIE WATER FOR HEALTH INITIATIVE

Streifen.jpg