IMG_2137 (1).jpg
Streifen.jpg

ABOUT US

WE BELIEVE IN A WORLD WHERE EVERYONE HAS THE OPPORTUNITY TO LIVE A SUSTAINABLY HEALTHY, SELF-DETERMINED AND FULFILLED LIFE.

SAM_4949_be.jpg

WHAT WE STAND FOR

The Opportunity Project exists as a direct response to global inequality and the effects it has on people living in Honduras.

 

By cooperating with impoverished communities, we implement specific initiatives to create new opportunities for its vulnerable families. With access to education, the basis for health and new income opportunities, we aim to equip children, youth and other members of the community with the knowledge, tools and motivation to break the cycle of poverty.

Design ohne Titel (12).png

HOW IT CAME ABOUT

The idea of founding this non-profit organisation came about when Julian met the Honduran social-entrepreneur Carlos while doing volunteer work in Central America. With the common goal of creating positive change and the will to meet the serious problems in Honduras with sustainable solutions, they decided to combine their complementary skills and start The Opportunity Project.

 

In cooperation with the other team members from Germany and Honduras, as well as every single donor and supporter, The Opportunity Project is set up to counteract global inequality and the resulting lack of opportunity for people in Central America.

 

WHO WE ARE

6.png
Julian Klute
Co-Founder and CEO

As a former Public Relations Specialist for Garmin, Julian maintains a solid background in Business and Communications. Additionally, he was able to gain first hand experience in planning, implementing and promoting development programs, while working for several NGO’s in Central America.

 

As CEO, Julian will be equally involved in the fundraising and administration activities in Germany as well as the program execution in Honduras.

Carlos Manuel Urbina
Co-Founder and Head of Community Initiatives

With a self-starter attitude and a degree in Business Management, Carlos is a serial entrepreneur. Besides having started several small businesses and NGO's, he is also the Head of Field Programs for another non-profit organisation in Honduras. This has given him a lot of experience in community development and program execution.

 

While maintaining a strong bond with the communities we are cooperating with, Carlos uses his local knowledge and experience to develop and deliver our field initiatives.

C_kompri.jpg
paul_screenshot.png
Paul Schieber
Co-Founder and Business Development Manager

When Paul isn't putting his time into The Opportunity Project, he is committed to making clean energy an affordable reality for everyone. In his position of Manager of Operations and Strategy at Sonnen, he has gained  valuable insights into managing and developing a business in its early stages.

 

Paul uses his knowledge, experience and strong will to tackle global problems, to further develop The Opportunity Project in the commercial sector.

Esthefany Muniz
Co-Founder and Community Initiative Manager

Esthefany served in a church-driven development project in Guatemala for two years, which allowed her to gain first-hand experience in development aid. With her communication skills, local-knowledge and empathy, Esthefany is able to foster and maintain deep relationships with teachers, parents, children and leaders of the cooperating communities.

 

As Manager of the Food for Thought Initiative, Esthefany is responsible for ensuring that everything runs smoothly in the field and that all attending school children receive their healthy meal every day.

E_kompri.jpg
IMG_20191107_070452 (2).jpg
Josef Klute
Co-Founder und Advisor

Josef looks back on 30 years of auditing and tax advisory experience. As a former partner for EY, he gained vast knowledge in management, finance and other business-related topics.

 

Josef uses his wealth of experience to advise and support the team in many different areas, including business development, finance and tax.

Portrait Hanna.jpeg
Hanna Adolph
SEO Manager
Nadine_Quadrat_500px.jpg
Nadine Hulboj
Content Manager
SAM_8887.jpg
Cara Bannigan
Education Consultant
Marwin_Quadrat_500px.jpg
Marwin Meller
Digital Experience
 
Bild_Pia.jpg
Pia Himmelein
Illustration & Design
Janine.jpg
Janine Plickert
Content Manager
Streifen.jpg
Kopie von SAM_8749.JPG

WOULD YOU LIKE TO GET TO KNOW OUR INITIATIVES?

In cooperation with rural communities in Honduras, we carry out various projects. These always pursue the overall goal of creating more opportunities for underprivileged children. 

SAM_4894_be.jpg

WOULD YOU LIKE TO SUPPORT US?

All donations go directly to support our initiatives and thus directly to the people in Honduras. As a small organisation, we are able to keep our administrative costs to a minimum. 

Streifen.jpg

SAM_7812 (1).jpg
Streifen.jpg

ÜBER UNS

WIR GLAUBEN AN EINE WELT, IN DER JEDER DIE CHANCE HAT, EIN NACHHALTIG GESUNDES, SELBSTBESTIMMTES UND ERFÜLLTES LEBEN ZU FÜHREN.

SAM_4949_be.jpg

WOFÜR WIR STEHEN

The Opportunity Project ist eine direkte Reaktion auf die globale Ungleichheit und dessen Auswirkungen auf die Menschen in Honduras.

Wir unterstützen dazu gezielt von Armut betroffene Gemeinden und rufen Initiativen ins Leben, die den grundsätzlichen Zugang

zu Bildung, Gesundheitsversorgung und Einkommen ermöglichen. Mit diesen Initiativen möchten wir insbesondere Kindern und Jugendlichen, aber auch allen anderen Mitgliedern der Community, die Werkzeuge und die Ambition vermitteln, den Kreislauf der Armut zu durchbrechen.

Kopie von SAM_7634.jpg

WIE ES DAZU KAM

Die Idee, die gemeinnützige Organisation zu gründen, entstand als Julian bei einem Freiwilligenprojekt in Mittelamerika, den honduranischen Social-Entrepreneur Carlos kennenlernte. Mit dem gemeinsamen Ziel, der kritischen Lage in Honduras mit nachhaltigen Lösungen zu begegnen, entschlossen sie sich ihre Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse zu kombinieren und The Opportunity Project zu gründen.

 

In Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen TeammitgliederInnen aus Deutschland und Honduras und allen UnterstützerInnen hat The Opportunity Project das feste Ziel, die globale Ungleichheit und die daraus resultierende Perspektivlosigkeit zu bekämpfen.

 

WER WIR SIND

Kopie von SAM_7797.jpg
Julian Klute
Co-Founder und CEO

Als ehemaliger Public Relations Specialist bei Garmin hat Julian einen soliden Kommunikations- und Business- Hintergrund. Während er für verschiedene NGOs in Mittelamerika arbeitete, sammelte er darüber hinaus viele Erfahrungen in der Planung, Implementierung und Förderung von Entwicklungsprogrammen.

 

Als CEO ist Julian gleichermaßen an den Fundraising- und Administrations- Aktivitäten in Deutschland sowie an der Programmdurchführung in Honduras beteiligt.

Carlos Manuel Urbina
Co-Founder und Head of Community Initiatives

Carlos ist ein Entrepreneur mit einer Self-starter Mentalität und einem Abschluss in Business Management. Er hat nicht nur mehrere kleine Unternehmen und NGOs gegründet, sondern ist auch Head of Field Programs für eine andere gemeinnützige Organisation in Honduras. Letzteres gab ihm die nötige Erfahrung und Courage, seine eigenen Projekte ins Leben zu rufen und voranzutreiben.

 

Carlos hat eine enge Bindung zu unseren Partner- Communities und nutzt sein lokales Wissen und seine Erfahrung in der Community-Entwicklung, um unsere Initiativen vor Ort in Honduras zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

C_kompri.jpg
paul_screenshot.png
Paul Schieber
Co-Founder und Business Development Manager

Wenn Paul seine Zeit nicht in The Opportunity Project investiert, setzt er sich dafür ein, dass erneuerbare Energien für alle zugänglich und bezahlbar werden. Als Manager Operations Strategy der sonnen GmbH erhält Paul wertvolle Einblicke in die Führung und Entwicklung eines Unternehmens.

Die Kombination aus seinem Wissen in der Geschäftsentwicklung und Strategie sowie seinem Willen globale Probleme zu lösen, nutzt Paul um The Opportunity Project besonders im kommerziellen Bereich voranzutreiben

Esthefany Muniz
Co-Founder und Community Initiative Manager

Esthefany war zwei Jahre lang in einem kirchlichen Entwicklungsprojekt in Guatemala tätig, was ihr ermöglichte, wertvolle Erfahrungen in der Entwicklungshilfe zu sammeln. Mit ihren Kommunikationsfähigkeiten, ihrem lokalen Wissen und ihrer Empathie ist Esthefany in der Lage, tiefgehende Beziehungen zu Lehrern, Eltern und Schulkindern aufzubauen.

 

Als Manager der Food for Thought Initiative ist Esthefany dafür verantwortlich, dass alle anwesenden Schulkinder täglich ihre gesunde Mahlzeit erhalten und vor Ort alles reibungslos abläuft.

E_kompri.jpg
IMG_20191107_070452 (2).jpg
Josef Klute
Co-Founder und Berater

Josef blickt auf mehr als 30 Jahre Erfahrung in der Wirtschaftsprüfung und Steuerberatung zurück. Als Partner bei EY sammelte er umfassende Kenntnisse in den Bereichen Management und Finance sowie anderen Business bezogenen Themen.

 

Josef berät und unterstützt das Team mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung insbesondere bei den Themen Geschäftsentwicklung, Steuern und Finanzen. 

Portrait Hanna.jpeg
Hanna Adolph
SEO Manager
Nadine_Quadrat_500px.jpg
Nadine Hulboj
Content Manager
SAM_8887.jpg
Cara Bannigan
Initiative Manager
Marwin_Quadrat_500px.jpg
Marwin Meller
Digital Experience
Bild_Pia.jpg
Pia Himmelein
Illustration & Design
Janine.jpg
Janine Plickert
Content Manager
Streifen.jpg
Kopie von SAM_8749.JPG

DU MÖCHTEST UNSERE INITIATIVEN   KENNENLERNEN?

In Kooperation mit ländlichen Communities in Honduras führen wir verschiedene Initiativen durch. Diese verfolgen immer das übergeordnete Ziel, mehr Möglichkeiten für unterprivilegierte Kinder zu schaffen. 

SAM_4894_be.jpg

DU MÖCHTEST UNS UNTERSTÜTZEN?

Alle Spenden fließen direkt in die Unterstützung unserer Initiativen und damit direkt zu den Menschen in Honduras. Als kleine Organisation sind wir in der Lage unsere Verwaltungskosten klein zu halten. 

Streifen.jpg